Thanksgiving, Day 18: Books

I really feel like this should go without saying, but I’m incredibly thankful for books. For the books that I have, the books that I love – hell, just the existence of a cheap, portable information storage and transfer medium that’ll probably outlast every single electronic device in my possession right now. I’ve been reading books for as long as I can remember, and even when I was living in miserable, tiny apartments – hell, even my dorm – I made sure to have books with me. Books are a part of my life that I can’t imagine not being there.

At the moment, I probably have about 800 books in my place, and I would have more except The Boyfriend put a limit on how many bookshelves I can put up. He seems to have this notion that the people who designed the condo didn’t factor in the weight of nearly a thousand books when they designed the place. Or something like that. All I know is that when I suggest getting more bookcases, he just glares at me and shakes his head slowly.

I suppose that’s why I have come to appreciate e-books as much as I have. Don’t get me wrong – I love my dead-tree books. I love the feel of them and the look of them and the smell. I love being able to flip the pages back and forth with my thumbs. I love the sound of a big, doorstop hardcover when you close it. There is nothing about conventional books that I don’t like, except that they take up so much space. And until I get my infinite library, there’s going to have to be some sacrifices on the number of books I’m able to keep at home.

Someday, man. Someday.

E-books at least give me the chance to try books out. They’re cheaper, and for all practical purposes they don’t actually exist. If a book really impresses me, I’ll have a real one shipped out to me.

In any case, I love books for the same reason any good bibliophile loves books – I love the stories and the characters, the worlds and the mysteries and the magic. I love that so many writers have been able to come out with so much wonderful work. Not only does it give me a place to go to in my head, but it inspires me to make my own places and write them down as well.

Books educate, enlighten, and entertain. They’re repositories of science and history and philosophy, whole schools of thought that represent centuries of thinking, pressed between two covers. They are a symbol of humanity’s desire to pass on its hard-earned knowledge to future generations.

Writing a book is an act of hope for the future, and books should be treated accordingly.

One comment on “Thanksgiving, Day 18: Books

  1. Nikki says:

    wow! u have sooo many books you need a book limit??? haha i don’t even know what to say about that.

Leave a Reply

